Nominations Open for International Green Pen Awards

Publisher Name: 
Asia-Pacific Forum of Environmental Journalists

The Asia-Pacific Forum of Environmental Journalists (APFEJ) is inviting

The International Green Pen Award is presented each year at the APFEJ
Annual World Congress for environmental journalists who have made a
significant contribution in promoting environmental journalism.

The award is open to all full-time or freelance journalists in the world
working in all forms of media, the environment, government agencies,private,
UN and NGO's.It is aimed to recognize the leadership of individuals in the
field of environmental journalism -- people who help, inspire and
support others in the field.

Some of Past recipients of the INTERNATIONAL GREEN PEN AWARDS:

*Aditya Man Shrestha-Nepal(founder Secretary General of Nepal Forum of
Environmental journalists.),*Jim Detjen- USA(founder chairman of US society of
Environmental Journalists),*Vijay Menon-Singapore(Secretary General of
Asian Media Information And Communication Centre),*Anna Solomon-Papua New
Guinea (editor-in-chief of Papua New Guinea's Word Publishing newspaper group),
*Yohei Sasakawa-Japan(president of the Sasakawa Pacific Island Nations Fund),
*Giff Johnson-Marshall Islands(editor of the Marshall Islands Journal,
Majuro), *Adlai Amor-USA(media director of the World Resources Institute).

LAST DATE: The last date for receipt of nominations is June 26,2001.

ANNOUNCEMENT: *The results will be announced in September,2001.

*The location of the Award ceremony varies. The last three ceremonies have
been held in Sri Lanka(1998), Bangladesh(1999) and Fiji(2000).This year the
award, along with a certificate, will be presented to the winner on Oct 23,2001 at a special ceremony at the 13th World Congress of Environmental Journalists
in The Philippines; Oct 22-26,2001, which will see more than 100 participants
from nearly 50 countries.


Name of Candidate:






Brief particulars of the candidate including a short description of
significant contributions in promoting environmental journalism and their
impact (max. 700 words):

Reasons why the candidate merits the Award (max. 300 words):

References and their address/telephone/fax/e-mail:




Nomination submitted by (name, address, telephone, fax, e-mail):


Nominations can be posted to:

Dharman Wickremaratne, Chairperson

Asia-Pacific Forum of Environmental Journalists (APFEJ)

P.O.Box 26

434/3-Sri Jayawardenapura

Sri Lanka

E-mail :

Telephone : (+94-1) 873131 (4 lines)

Fax : (+94-1) 883187

AMP Section Name:CorpWatch