Last week I tried to visit Canada. Flying in from the San Francisco area where I live, I was on my way to give a speech about human rights and the environment in Calgary. I didn't get past the immigration desk.
Here is the program for the 2000 Climate Justice Summit in the Hague.
THE HAGUE -- In sharp contrast to the at times mind numbing official climate negotiations taking place this week, community activists from around the world held a watershed gathering.
SAN FRANCISCO -- Bay Area activists set to speak at a teach-in on the human rights and environmental impacts of the oil industry have returned to the United States after having been arrested, detained, and denied entry by Canadian immigration officials at Calgary International Airport.
The following statement, released during the UN climate summit in Bonn (July 16-27), warns against a further weakening and distortion of the Kyoto Protocol, as governments try to accommodate the irresponsible position of the U.S. (and a growing number of other countries).
Today leaders of more than a dozen environmental justice organizations from the United States and around the world delivered an Earth Day letter to President George W. Bush offering a scathing response to the U.S. abandonment of the Kyoto Protocol.
President G. W. Bush has moved quickly and decisively to burn his initials onto the most serious environmental issue the world has ever faced. He has made it clear for all to see that unless he dramatically reverses course, it's going to be ''G'' for global, ''W'' for warming, Bush from now on.
Here is the schedule for the 2001 tour.
Human Rights attorney and environmental activist, Oronto Douglas, is on the road with CorpWatch's 2001 Climate Justice Tour of seven U.S. cities.
Sarah James, a powerful Gwich'in woman, has been a voice for indigenous rights, human rights, and environmental issues for over 10 years. Since 1988, she has been a leader in the fight to prevent oil drilling in the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge. Ms. James is a Board Member of the Gwich'in Steering Committee and the International Indian Treaty Council.